#Self cleaning.
5 messages in this thread
Hi There!
How good is DTS in cleaning after itself? I just created an entry "junk", which
I cloned somewhere else. Then, I cleared the original entry. Afterwards, the
cloned entry was still there.
In my opinion two things should happen:
1. A flag should be showing whether an entry is the original or a clone. Also,
may be, there should be an instruction of how to get to the original from the
clone; and given the original, where are the clones.
2. If the original is cleared or edited, the clone should be cleared or edited
automatically (after asking for confirmation), without further intervention by
the user.
Bye,
Victor
Victor,
In version 4.1b, which is available on the forum for download, cloned entries
will appear in dark gray type as opposed to black. When you delete the
original entry, the clone will remain. If the original or clone is edited, the
change will appear in the other. If edits aren't appearing in the other
record, then they are copies instead of clones.
Sincerely,
Martine Carlson
Okna Technical Support
Martine,
Great! I hope that soon you will start mailing the promised packaged. Do you
have a date?
Self cleaning means that once you got rid of an entry, that disk space is again
available for other uses. Are the data files ever growing, Or do they shrink
as the data gets discarded?
Suggestion: There should be a command to discard with one stroke the original
entry and all it's clones.
Thanks,
Victor
Victor,
There isn't a definite mail date yet.
The Calendar is self cleaning. The Address Book, however, doesn't really
delete an entry from the database unless you use File Doctor to pack it. Since
there isn't an undo feature, this makes the data somewhat recoverable if it's a
"life and death" situation.
Sincerely, Martine Carlson Okna Technical Support
Victor,
See Martine's response under a different cover.
Dean
Okna Tech