#The Dummy Twins
4 messages in this thread
Gary,
Here's something interesting I just discovered: (3DSr2.01)
I have two dummy objects with IDENTICAL names. Both names show up via the H
key (although there is no way to distinguish one from the other.) I was
working with a project file containing the first dummy object; I merged in
a new .3ds file which contained an indentically named dummy object and it
merged successfully into the 3d Editor and they both show up fine in the
keyframer.
Isn't this a Violation of The Rules?
Also . . . I know you're not taking anymore wishlist stuff for 3.0 but it
would be very nice if 3DS could somehow prevent me from doing something
very Dumb & Destructive: Opening 3DS, selecting "Save Project" instead of
"LOAD Project," then choosing the project file name I want, hitting "OK"
and thereby overwriting my good project file with a blank project file.
(I've done this twice while talking on the phone.)
I might also remind you of my previous humble request for numbered vertical
column lines in the "Show Hierarchy" scroll box.
Thanks, Alec Jason
Alec,
Re: saving a project instead of loading it
Hehe! I do that a lot too because I've memorized almost all of the hotkeys
and I sometimes get those 2 mixed up. Fortunately, if you have the save
backup file set in the system options, you can recover by copying or
renaming the prj.bak in the project directory to the file you just saved
over.
Wishlist items for 3.0 were being considered up until September last year.
Martin
It's actually quite legal for DUMMY objects to have any name that you want.
This is because they're not actually "objects" in the legal sense. All they
are are place-holders, and as such, they don't have to subscribe to the
same rules that legitimate objects do. In the future, we'll have a way for
you to rename them, but for now, it certainly won't screw anything up for
you to leave them that way (you'll just have to pick them visually).
Regarding saving a project file over another one by mistake. As Martin
said, it's simple to get your overwritten file back (as long as you've got
the backup system ON, which ought to be ALWAYS).
– G
Gary,
Thanks for the reply. I'll be eyeing my dummies carefully.
Alec Jason