#Essence & 2.9 Ya Hoo!
28-Feb-94 22:45:55
Sb: #75063-#Essence & 2.9 Ya Hoo!
Fm: Charles Blaquiere 76046,1756
To: Stan Kalisher (Impulse) 76004,1767
Mike,
Is it still time for a suggestion? If not, you can consider it for the next
maintenance upgrade.
I'll bet this has happened to every single Imagine user: you create a
finely-crafted group. You put in a lot of time and effort. After rendering, you
realize something is wrong, so you bring the group into the Detail editor. You
select the offending object, make the necessary changes, then save the group
back. You merrily click on "Overwrite existing file? – OK" and go to Stage or
Project to re-render your test frame.
When the image appears, the blood drains from your face. The intricate group
has been replaced by… A SINGLE OBJECT, the one you just modified. You dope.
You overwrote the group while you were still in Pick Objects mode. You just
lost tons of work.
This happens to every Imagine neophyte, and even occasionally to Imagine
experts who might be working too fast, too late at night. Here's an improved
scenario: when the user selects a filename to save, if the file already exists
on disk, Imagine puts up the "Overwrite existing file?" alert. If the user
clicks on "OK", Imagine could read the file and determine whether it's a single
object or a group. My suggestion is: if the disk file is a group, and the user
is saving a single object, Imagine could put up a second alert, saying
something like "You are about to replace a _group_ (on disk) with a single
_object_. (OK/Cancel)" This would be quite easy to code, and would avoid an
irritating situation faced by most users.
Blaq!