#If Wishes Were Fishes…
15-Dec-93 11:51:02
Sb: #71021-#If Wishes Were Fishes…
Fm: Marion K. Marks 70700,2777
To: Yost Group 76702,413
Then with all due respect to Autodesk, that's a nonsensical policy. The
whole point of the three-level version numbering system is that bug fixes
change only the second digit after the decimal point (3.01, etc.), MINOR
IMPROVEMENTS (including new features visible in the UI) would change the first
digit after the decimal point (3.1, etc.), and major revamps would change the
digit to the left of the decimal point (4.0, etc.). This is the way it is in
the entire rest of the computer software industry.
For instance, Aldus Pagemaker 4.2 (for the Macintosh) added the whole
concept of Aldus Additions, which meant adding a whole new heirarchical
pull-down menu to 4.0 which lacked that feature entirely. Yet that change
wasn't considered major enough to call it 5.0. I can give you many other
similar examples from the likes of Lotus, WordPerfect, Adobe, Borland, and even
Almighty Microsoft (see MS-DOS 6.2 or Windows 3.1?), and even from direct
competitors to both Autodesk and the Yost Group. If it's good enough for them.
. . .
Maybe you haven't realized just how enormously difficult it is to make a
change in 3DS.SET for one job when you have a rendering farm. You have to make
the change on EVERY SINGLE MACHINE that will have anything to do with that
project! One at a time. These have to be on the LOCAL DRIVES of the machines
in question, too, so there is no way to automate it over the network. Our
rendering farm is I dare say like many others in that we don't have a keyboard
and monitor hooked to each individual machine. (I have AUTOEXEC.BAT set up to
put the machines into Slave mode on bootup, synchronizing the clock to the
network included, requiring no keypresses whatsoever in the process.) This
means that for each machine, we have to hook up a keyboard and monitor, bring
down Slave mode, make the change, restart Slave mode, disconnect the monitor
and keyboard, hook it to the next machine, and so on. (Yes, we could get a
massive switch box, but why should we pay so much extra because Autodesk has
such a nonsensical policy and for no other reason?) This is just too much to
have to do to render ONE PROJECT, and then we'd have to REPEAT the process to
change it BACK! And this still ignores the question of how to have BOTH
transparencies in the same scenes!
Autodesk wants us to go through all of this just because THEY don't want to
make changes visible in the UI (in other words, any sort of new feature
whatsoever that is at all usable to the average user) between major left of the
decimal point version revamps? Perhaps this deserves a rethink.