CompuServe Thread

#HOW DELETED IS DELETED?

8 messages in this thread
#33582From: Dan CrimminsFeb 18, 1992 4:16 PM
I used the File Utility to delete a couple of drawing files. I now have regrets — but UNERASE seems to be unable to find any remnants. Could it be that ACAD 'wipes' deleted files in lieu of a simple DOS-style erase? ps. I can reaquire the 340kB drawing from backups, and the other was just a WBLOCK of a small part of the big drawing, so all I'm out is time…but was just curious. If it turns out that ACAD does NOT 'wipe' deleted files, then I need to either take a closer look at my system, or see the nice man in the white coat. Thanks….Dan
#33643From: Josh Gordon [ex-Adesk]Feb 18, 1992 10:37 PM
AutoCAD uses an awful lot of intermediate files, creating and deleting them on the fly during the course of a session (as you'll discover if you reboot rather than exiting AutoCAD — there will be temporary files sitting around.) Thus, if you delete a file, then continue an AutoCAD session, it is more than likely that the space freed up by the deleted file would be used real quickly by an ACAD temporary file, thus zapping any hope for unerase to work.
#33717From: Dan CrimminsFeb 19, 1992 1:18 PM
Thanks, Josh, for the reply on file deletions. I'm used to seeing at least a fragment of a file when I try to Unerase…but I see what you're saying about ACAD using so many temporary files, that the space could have been taken up. I don't recall having gotten back into the graphics screen after doing the deletions, though. And one of the files was 340 kB, so it would have taken a lot of "filling up"! Well…as The Whistler (or was it the Green Lantern…?)said, "Who knows what evil lurks in the heart of a CPU." Or something like that… Thanks….Dan
#33828From: Charles E. HudakFeb 20, 1992 9:46 AM
Dan: FWIW, I think it was my old friend Lamont Cranston (a.k.a. The Shadow) who said that. The response to the rhetorical was "The Shadow knows; ha ha ha ha ha ha" (sinister laughter, for a while!). —– Chuck
#33671From: Duff Kurland [Adesk]Feb 19, 1992 9:27 AM
Dan – AutoCAD's FILES/Delete utility doesn't do any file scrubbing or wiping; it simply issues the DOS function to delete a file. So perhaps the space that had been used by those files was consumed by other files, or even by the drawing file you were working on at the time (or the temporary files used by AutoCAD).
#33718From: Dan CrimminsFeb 19, 1992 1:18 PM
Thanks, Duff — I'm not sure why the files that I deleted would disappear. I don't believe that I returned to the drawing screen after deleting the files in the Main Menu screen. Perhaps there is some file-saving activity when you enter "0", to leave the Main Menu, but I would have thought that the bridge from drawing screen to Main Menu would have ended any file saving (or deleting of temp files, for that matter). Anyhoo…just curious. For me, it's just as easy to do my housekeeping from the DOS prompt, so I sould have no future reason for concern. At any rate, I appreciate your comments! See ya….Dan
#33714From: Mark Burns [Network TM]Feb 19, 1992 1:06 PM
Dan, I'll send those nice men with the white coats over to see ya…<grin> They'll even have a new jacket for ya to wear…but you might have some diffuculty typing after putting it on. ACAD itself doesn't do anything to deleted a file, the entries in the standard ACAD.PGP file and the FILES utility menu all just do basic dos DELETE oprtations – nothing more fancy than that. The reason that your files may not have been UNERASEable is that ACAD will continue to open new temporary files while you are continuing to wotk in the drawing editor. When a new temo file (or even the new version of the curent file created by a SAVE or END command) can simply grab the directory entry slot the USED to have been the home of your deleted file's directory entry. As soon as DOS deletes a file, the only thing it does is to mark the directory entry as deleted. Any subsequent file creation calls (by ACAD or any other program, for that matter) will look for the first, sequential, open directory slot (including any deleted file slots) in the directory list. It will then use this directory slot for itself, permanently erasing the deleted file's directory entry. This is probably what happened to you. Better luck next time!<grin> Regards, Mark Burns – [Network TM]
#33722From: Dan CrimminsFeb 19, 1992 1:25 PM
Thanks, Mark, for all your comments except the white coat one! You don't have to be *quite* so cooperative!! My mental disturbance (well…the AutoCAD one) arises from my recollection that I did not re-enter the drawing editor after having deleted the files. Of course, if the part about my going loony is applicable…… Thanks….Dan <finger on lips going blip-ip-ip-ip-ip-idib> Crimmins